Compelling Digital Stories Rule

About two years ago I made a very important decision.  I added “attend Sundance Film Festival” to my bucket list of things to do before I kick the bucket.  I’m what you call a movie enthusiast and have been since the age of six.

The first movie my parents took me to see was Gandhi in San Francisco’s Japantown.  I remember being in awe of the massive screen as well as the story behind the man and his movement for peace and independence.

Around the same time, my dad insisted that I watch educational programs on PBS instead of the Brady Bunch . Being a dutiful child, I obeyed and eventually began to enjoy the raw and uncut carnage Marty Stouffer brought to PBS with his documentary TV show Wild America PBS' Wild America theme song.  It was during this time that I discovered a love affair with great cinema.

marty-stouffers-wild-america

Fast forward 30 years and at least 1,000 movies later (loyal Netflix customer since ’02).

I’ve enjoyed a cross-section of films ranging from The Birth of a Nation, Prometheus, A Clockwork Orange, Andromeda Strain, Grapes of Wrath, The Color Purple, The Woman in the Dunes, and City of Women. Countless soundbites are cataloged in my memory bank and I often find myself saying random lines to my husband when I’m doing something mundane, like washing dishes or cooking dinner.

Say hello to my little friend!

Rock art in the Sahara Desert, Mauritania / Ma...

Rock art in the Sahara Desert, Mauritania / Mauritanie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Using visual content to communicate is unique to the human species.  It’s a well-known fact that prehistoric man’s earliest methods of communication came in the form of rock art, petroglyphs, and cave paintings.

And now it seems we’ve come full circle.

Visual storytelling – a core part of digital marketing for hotels (tnooz.com)

Long-form writing still have a fighting chance, however, words are loosing ground compared to digital images and videos.  With sites like Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, and Vimeo leading the charge as conduits of seemingly endless amounts of visual stimuli, it’s not surprising why visual content rules the mean streets of marketing.

When it comes to content marketing, seeing is believing (forbes.com)

Secretary of Education, textbooks are obsolete (huffingtonpost.com)

I think most people would agree that 20th century marketing antics have gotten long in the teeth and we’ve officially embraced an era of storytelling.  Mini docs, whiteboard animation or video scribing, animations, and dynamic presentation sites like Prezi  are some of the exciting ways brands are using visual content to tell their story.

The San Francisco Foundation

Caine’s Arcade

RSA Animate

Prezi

What novel ways are you using visuals to tell your digital story?

More Mini Docs

PBS Arts Fall Festival Mini Doc | Minnesota: Arts Scene Minnesota
National Geographic | Inside New Orleans High: Keeping the Dream
Pearson Foundation: Plan Ahead for College & Career

Leave a Reply

